Youth Dance Leaders


Around Darwin, Lajamanu, and Philippines

Throughout 2007

Youth Dance Leaders

Erwin Fenis, Vera Tabuzo, Kelly Beneforti, Corina Nichols, Imanuel Dado, and Estelle Esperanza Quindara, and Caleb Japanangka Patrick (Lajamanu)

The Youth Dance Leaders project continued, with a professional development trip to the Philippines, core artists employed for ‘You Dance Funny’ and ‘Milpirri’, key dance leadership for the   ‘Arafura Games Opening Ceremony’, and a close working relationship with key Lajamanu community members.

Erwin Fenis was our Youth Dance Animateur again from this year and was joined by our 2007 Youth Dance Leaders: Erwin Fenis, Vera Tabuzo, Kelly Beneforti, Corina Nichols, Imanuel Dado, and Estelle Esperanza Quindara, and Caleb Japanangka Patrick in Lajamanu

Performances and Events

We started the year taking six of our our youth dance leaders to the Philippines under the guidance of Betchay Mondragon. Four of the seven Leaders are Filipino. This was a great cultural experience giving Tracks artists the chance to get a better understanding of one of the major migrant groups in Darwin.

For the Arafura Games Opening Ceremony we created a 35-minute dance performance involving 255 performers from 14 different groups and styles. Cultural Groups, High School and studio groups were engaged to participate. we auditioned a gpot 68 youth dancers, and had key youth dancers in the Pacific Island, Chung Wah Society Lion Troupe, Austin Martial Arts Soo Bahk Do Display Team, Kiribati Multicultural association, Greek Dance Group, Rince Na Eireann Irish Dance Group, and the Filipino Dance Group

Our leaders took on key roles in the comic performance of You Dance Funny, with Erwin Fenis and Kelly Beneforti taking lead roles, and others in minor roles. This was our largest audience to date. We took a stronger mentoring role of Caleb and Gerard in Lajamanu with them being mentored by Nick Power. Milpirri is a major performance event that brings the youth and elders together in a show that draws its inspiration from Warlpiri values and ceremony.

Erwin continued his series of workshops with Dondale Youth Detention Centre, and was nomination (and short listed) for Northern Territory Young Achievers Award.

Arafura Games Opening Ceremony

You Dance Funny

Milpirri - Kudiji

Tracks 2007

Artistic Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
General Manager: Fiona Carter
Dance Animateur: Julia Quinn
Youth Dance Animateur: Erwin Fenis
Administrative Assistant: Skye Raabe
Bookkeeper: Julie Ann Stark
Development Consultant: Suzanne Fermanis

Committee Members: (Chair) Jill MacAndrew, (Vice-Chair) Jackie Wurm/David Taylor, (Treasurer) Glenn Bernardin, (Secretary/Public Officer) Traci Keys, (Ordinary Committee Members) Ken Conway, Nick Papandonakis, Donna Quong, (Ex-Officio Members) David McMicken and Tim Newth

Public Fund Trustees: Rev. Steve Orme, Dr Anita Toth, Paul Wan

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year