The Gun Turrett, East Point Reserve, Darwin

May 15 - 18 & 21 - 24, 2008

Winner of the 2009 Australian Dance Award

for Outstanding Achievement in Youth or Community Dance

Struck opens in early 1940’s Darwin. With war upon our shores, we follow the paths of two young lovers - a pretty Darwin nurse and an Allied American soldier. While it is natural that lovely and attractive girls should keep themselves looking fresh and always be ready to entertain our valiant fighting men, it is preferable that they do not succumb to the silk stockings and new fashions of the Americans.

Directors' Notes

We began with an idea of thrusting ballet alongside hip-hop in a Darwin style Romeo and Juliet extravaganza. Setting the show around February 1942, a time where Darwin was a startegic harbour for American war ships, and was subsequently bombed, the show would feature young lovers, some tragic consequences, and a bit of Darwin history. Clearly we needed an energetic and versatile cast with a passion for telling the story. We ended up with Struck, an ambitious work with a cast of forty dancers, four choreographers, multiple dance forms, from new forms of swing, through contemporary, to old (s)kool hip-hop and break. Set with the WWII gun turret (at East Point Reserve) as the backdrop, the cast of Darwin’s finest youth performers more than rose to the demanding challenges placed upon them by their creative team. A big thank you goes out to everyone that helped make this unique Darwin show into such a spectacular evening of dancing entertainment!

Creative Personnel

Concept and Direction: David McMicken, Tim Newth
Choreography: Joanna Noonan, Nick Power, Julia Quinn, David McMicken
Youth Dance Animateur: Erwin Fenis
Original Music / Soundtrack: David McMicken
Design: Tim Newth
Costumes: Ann Gibb
Lighting Designer: Andrew Dudley

Production and Promotions Personnel

Production and Stage Manager: Suzi Cordell
Stage Manager and Sound Operator: Kelly Blumberg
Sound Engineer: Matthew Cunliffe
Front of House Manager: Nicola Jackson
Lighting Operator: Tristan Bourke
Stage Hands: Sarah Sutcliffe, Gabriella Austin, Gail Evans,
Stage Design and Construction: Don Whyte, Don Whyte Framing
Promotions and Publicity: Fiona Carter, Ciella Williams
Poster Image and Design: Mark Marcelis
Graphic Design: Narelle Sullivan
Photographic Documentation: Peter Eve
Film Documentation: Cutting Edge (Todd Williams, Ian Redfearn, Andy Hyde and Katie Saunders)


Darwin Mob: * Vera Tabuzo, * Koel Wrigley, * Paul Viojan, * Karajayne Handberg, * Kathryn Lawrence, * Rachael Pen-Dennis, * Ricky Borg, Xavier Burrow, Ciella Williams, Poppy Kathopoulis, Beau Ruutz, Cameron Goodman, Shaan Myall, Tegan Barrett-McGuin, Elle Chandler, Corina Nichols, Chloe Lauverjon, Rachel Ortner, Stevie Kirke-Groves, Alexandra Presswell, Katena Valastro, Emma Folley, Jessica Pritchard, Kate Boyd, Elle Megaw, Brittany Mather, Jensine Rickert, Madelaine Cvirn, Taylor Hailes, Flori Latif
American Servicemen:* Imanuel Dado,* Erwin Fenis, * John Rigas, Andy Lay, Aaron Lim, Grant Nery, Caleb Japanangka Patrick, Sean Bourke
* Core Dancers


  • Darwin Hospital – Waiting for the war to arrive
  • American Servicemen in training
  • A Happy Family
  • Going Out Dancing – Wartime entertainments
  • American Servicemen Intimidate the Locals Boys
  • Darwin Hospital - Bombing of Darwin
  • American Servicemen in Action
  • Back at the Dance – The Americans R&R
  • Love Duet
  • The Killing Machine
  • The Last Dance
  • The Fight
  • A Love Triangle

Tracks 2008

Artistic Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
General Manager: Fiona Carter
Dance Animateur: Julia Quinn
Administrative Assistant: Ciella Williams, Gail Evans
Bookkeeper: Julie Ann Stark
Development Consultant: Suzanne Fermanis

Committee Members: (Chair) Jill MacAndrew, (Vice-Chair) David Taylor, (Treasurer) Glenn Bernardin, (Secretary/Public Officer) Traci Keys, (Ordinary Committee Members) Ken Conway, Nick Papandonakis, Donna Quong, (Ex-Officio Members) David McMicken and Tim Newth

Public Fund Trustees: Rev. Steve Orme, Dr Anita Toth, Paul Wan



Explore Further

Eras of Youth Dance

Iconic Tracks Works

Media Response

"I have two words to say about Struck … “see it.”  Geri Flynn, The Darwin Sun

Audience Response

“I had never seen a set with such beautiful lighting, especially in a place so far from an actual theatre.”

“Very captivating and found myself holding back tears more than once.”

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year