Nauiyu Nambiyu (Daly River) Residency


Nauiyu Nambiyu (Daly River), Northern Territory

November 14 - 21, 2004

Through the utilisation of youth dance leaders, guided by professional cultural worker this project hoped to stimulate the youth of Nauiyu (Daly River) through peer interaction, role modelling, and specific skill development. It also aims to assist in the development of Territory talent.

There were several phases to this project.

  • Development of materials, including training in cross cultural awareness, and rehearsal.
  • A performance presentation of FAST. (Sunday November 21st.)
  • A series of workshops.
  • A short showing of student work.

A youth company of 24 people, with six different cultures represented (Including three Indigenous) was formed for the residency. They created a 40-minute performance that was based on a full-length show called FAST. All youth were given cross-cultural training with particular reference to remote Northern Territory Aboriginal communities. Specific education was given to history of the area.

The 40-minute performance of FAST was presented in the Recreation Hall in the community. The performance aimed to excite and encourage young people to attend school in order to participate in the next phase.

Four young people, (two females, Jessica Rosewarne and Tara Robertson, and two males Marko Taopo and Erwin Fenis) remained in the community to run workshops in the school. The workshops focussed on developing movement material that the participants would perform at the end of the week. We ran seven workshops a day, and eight for two days. At the end of the week the students and staff presented a 40-minute concert to the community.

Creative Personnel (Residency)

Workshop Coordinators: David McMicken and Bec Reid (Stompin Youth Dance Co – as part of her monitorship to Tracks)
Youth Dance Leaders: Jessica Rosewarne, Tara Robertson, Marko Taopo and Erwin Fenis
Project Coordinator: Sue Mornane

Creative Personnel (Fast Tour)

Rehearsal Director: Julia Quinn
Production Manager: Mathew James
Assistant Coordinator: Tim Newth


Jessica Rosewarne, Tara Robertson, Marko Taopo, Erwin Fenis, Kelly Beneforti, Issac Hanlon, Sachini Gamage, Daniel Baker, Vera Tabuzo, Georgia Mansfield, Victoria Close, Natalee Evans, Jensine Rickert, Wesley Camiglia, Maxi Gonzalez-Finestone and Jacintha-Lee Anderson

Tracks 2004

Artistic Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
Company Manager: Sue Mornane
Dance Animateur: Julia Quinn
Youth Trainee: Marko Taopo
Bookkeeper: Heather Richards
Development Consultant: Suzanne Fermanis

Committee Members:  Jackie Wurm (Chair), David Taylor (Vice-Chair), Glenn Bernardin (Treasurer), Kyleigh Hindson (Secretary/Public Officer), Ken Conway, Donna Quong, Jill MacAndrew, Kay Brown (Ordinary Committee Members), David McMicken and Tim Newth (Ex-Officio Members)

Public Fund Trustees: Rev. Steve Orme, Dr Anita Toth, Paul Wan

Explore Further

Eras of Youth Dance


Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year