The Gift


Performance in Civic Park

Browns Mart surrounds

Pop Up performance at Brown's Mart Cocktail Party - Saturday September 24
The Gift Public Performance: Sunday, September 25, 5.00 pm 2022, Civic Park, Darwin City

Happy Birthday Brown’s Mart

Celebrating Brown’s Mart’s 50th birthday Tracks gifted a large-scale 18-minute pop up dance performance drawn from the decades of Brown’s Mart existence - dance and music from the 70’s to the ‘00s rushing towards a grand finale. Huge on fun, rich in community and cultural flavour, a generous display of gratitude and celebration. 

Tracks Dance started at Brown's Mart as the Community Dance Program, begun in 1988. Check out the history. We were housed in the building until 1997, sharing our work with the many other program areas, and had many performances there and in the immediate surrounds, particularly in Civic Park. With gratitude, we return to the Park to present our gift of dance to Brown's Mart, celebrating its history and ongoing commitment to performing Arts in Darwin.

It is with great appreciation that we thank the wonderful cast of willing performers. A special thank you to Corrugated Iron Youth Arts and Malak Primary School for assisting the youth dance component.

Creative Team

Original Concept: Tim Newth and David McMicken
Choreographers: David McMicken (1970's), Jessica Devereux (1980's), Kelly Beneforti (1990's), and Steph Spillet (2000's)
Music Finalé: James Mangohig
Digital Toolkit: Filmed by Duane Preston


The Grey Panthers - Darwin and Coomalie. Antonietta Vanzella, Cherrian Eecen, Connie Vlastuin, Darryl Butler, David McMicken, Denise Grecian-Wright, Ellen Hankin, Gail Flack, Janine Sutter, Julie Pudney, Maria Vlastuin, Natina Demetriou, Nikki Charlesworth-Canning, Pat Simmonds, Prue King, Sue Mornane, Susan Pattiselanno, Toni Vine-Bromley, Trish Greenfield, Valerie Hristova

Hugh Bond, Jenelle Saunders, Kyle Walmsley,  Mandy Trueman, Piper Mules, Thevi Chelliah, Venaska Cheliah

Anika Frieling, Britt Guy, Bryn Wackett, Kelly Beneforti, Natalie Kew, Shenagh Gamble, Teresa  Helm

Amelie Sheperd, Annabeth Spillett, Ariela Reys, Asha O'Brien-Hatcher, Isla Kellie Joswig, Jaxon Price, Kamilia Bakab, Maggie Emedi, Nakyra Reys, Noor Kashif, Pika Janko Kosi, Steph Spillett, Taya Reys

Finalé Group
Alison Copley, Kerry Barker, Laura Freed, Mikayla Patricks, Rebecca Miriams, Ruby Dias-Delana, Sara Higgs, Sheila Rose, Yasmin Kelsall


Explore Further

Get On The Dance Floor

At Tracks we believe that everyone should have the chance to enjoy dancing and dance-making and to creatively participate in the development of their own local culture. The Tracks Participation Program is about engaging in dance as a whole of life activity and presenting it publicly. 

Participation Programs




‘Such a joyous and energy filled display of passion and colour. It was impossible not to get swept up in the magic and fun of it. ‘ - Sarah Reuben

'Amongst and between the dancers of all groups, there was a sense of camaraderie and purpose. There was a joyousness about performing.'   - Participant

'I loved celebrating with all the other dancers.' - Participant

'The feeling of joy was palpable after the performance from the audience and the performers. I think this was because of the coming together of such a diverse group of people, dancing together, and dancing outside under the trees. Very unique. I’m so glad that I could be part of it as a Grey Panther.' - Participant

'I love Tracks events, they are always great.' - Audience member

'I didn’t realise that Tracks coveres so many age groups... It was brilliant.' - Audience member

Tracks 2022


Artistic Co-Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth (Tim currently on long service leave)
Company Director: Adelaide Wood
Assoc. Artistic Director: Jessica Devereux
Dance Animateur: Kelly Beneforti and Steph Spillett
Production Manager: Duane Preston
Administrator: Mikaela Earnshaw and Debbie Micairan
Bookkeeper: It Figures

Committee Members

David Taylor (Chairperson), Max Dewa Stretton (Vice-Chairperson), Glenn Bernardin (Treasurer), Venaska Cheliah, Andrea Wicking, Rachael Wallis, Michael Grant, Ken Conway. David McMicken, Tim Newth, and Adelaide Wood (Ex-Officio Members)

Public Fund Trustees

Maari Gray, Will Crawford, and Lachlan Peattie


Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O’Halloran AM, Administrator of the Northern Territory

Company Partner

Tracks Inc is proudly sponsored by the Northern Territory Government

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year