Detour Interconnected Dance Fellowship


Garramilla Darwin

12-26th August 2023

In a spirit of mutuality and reciprocity, five leading Australian dance companies are working together to host an independent dance artist for a 15-week interconnected paid residency. A career-defining opportunity for an emerging dance artist, Detour 2023 was been supported by Australia Council for the Arts.  

The five companies hosting the residency are Tracks (Larrakia Country NT), Dance Makers Collective (Darug Country NSW), Dancenorth (Gurambilbarra & Yunbenun Country QLD), GUTS (Arrernte Country NT) and Tasdance (Lutruwita Country TAS).

Jennifer Ma, a Naarm (Melbourne) based Taiwanese-Australian dancer, choreographer and producer, was selected from over 75 applications. Jenn will spend 2 weeks with each company, engaging with local communities with no explicit 'outcome' in mind; to free the artist to develop in the context of our unique environs.

Jenn Ma visited Tracks during the bustling Darwin Festival time. Jenn undertook a Studio Residency, attended Milpirri Sensorium, Milpirri Symposium, offered a movement workshop to Tracks core creatives, particpated in the 'Industry Connect' program by Darwin Festival, particpated in Grey Panthers, visited Litchfield and shared her solo process /showing with a small invited audience, with music provided by James Mangohig.

Community Connectors: Jess Devereux, Kelly Beneforti, Steph Spillett


Company Partners

Tracks Inc is proudly sponsored by the Northern Territory Government.

Project Partner

Australia Council For The Arts

Tracks 2023

Artistic Director: David McMicken
Associate Artistic Director: Jess Devereux
Creative Producer: Britt Guy
Production Manager: Duane Preston
Dance Animateurs: Kelly Beneforti and Steph Spillett
Administrator: Debbie Micairan
Bookkeeper: It Figures
Auditors: Brian Tucker Audit

Committee Members: Chairperson: Max Dewa Stretton. Treasurer: Glenn Bernardin. Ordinary Members: Andrea Wicking, David Taylor, Ken Conway, Lachlan Peattie, Rachael Wallis, Anna Lindsay, Venaska Cheliah. Ex-Officio: David McMicken

Public Fund Trustees: Maari Gray and Michael Grant

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year