Cloud Split (Development)


Tracks Dance Studio, Darwin Gulumerrdjin, Larrakia Country

2023 Oct / Nov - In Development
2024 - Performance Premiere 


An exploration of cloudy ideas led by Jess Devereux in conversation and collaboration with Britt Guy. An exploration into fields of movement improvisation in varied sized groups and languid conversations, arriving at a curiosity about about the physical potential of unpredictable phenomena and the relationship between being reflective and projective... in dance, in life and in nature.

Alongside a period of group improvisation labs, a core collective of interdisciplinary artists undertook two Cloud Split intensives to inform the project, through soft sharing of their various practices to start to imagine a sound and visual landscape to support the work.

We imagined clouds, then swallowed them. Breathed them, conducted and channelled them in our hands. We found new pulses in repetitive movements, hovered amongst each other. Wrote poetry, stretched our bodies with three dimensional awareness, tuned in, tuned out. Awakened and remembered places while moving, responded to offers as schools of fish in aerial oceans, shared movement in close proximity, cloudscaped, splitting energy, made waves between people, and, found ruptures within formlessness.

See 'Photos' for images/artefacts.

Creative Team

Concept: Jess Devereux
Creative Producer: Britt Guy
Artist Collective: Kelly Beneforti, James Mangohig, Britt Guy, Mikaela Lee Earnshaw, Matty van Roden, Spillett, Jess Devereux

Dancers (researchers)

Jenelle Saunders, Maari Gray, Tara Schmidt, Spillett, Kate Boston Smith, Flynn, Shenagh Gamble, Serina Pech, Crystal Thomas, Kate Mornne, Anokai Susi, Alex Jordan, Kelly Beneforti


Company Partners

Tracks Inc is proudly sponsored by the Northern Territory Government.

Tracks 2023

Artistic Director: David McMicken
Associate Artistic Director: Jess Devereux
Creative Producer: Britt Guy
Production Manager: Duane Preston
Dance Animateurs: Kelly Beneforti and Steph Spillett
Administrator: Debbie Micairan
Bookkeeper: It Figures
Auditors: Brian Tucker Audit

Committee Members: Chairperson: Max Dewa Stretton. Treasurer: Glenn Bernardin. Ordinary Members: Andrea Wicking, David Taylor, Ken Conway, Lachlan Peattie, Rachael Wallis, Anna Lindsay. Ex-Officio: David McMicken, Tim Newth (On leave 2023)

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year