2008 Grey Panthers


Tracks Dance Studio, Frog Hollow Centre for the Arts, Darwin City

Throughout year, 2008

Over 60's Dance Troupe and Classes

twenty-first birthday

In 2008, for the Grey Panthers twenty-first birthday celebrations, Tracks developed a new full length show called Lipstick and Ochre. Joining with the Lajamanu Yawulyu Dancers and various special guests, we created an evening of entertainment that showed how both groups of Elders enjoyed making up and painting up and having a jolly good time dancing together. This performance allowed us to bring back some old favorites as well as show off some new dances.

One off performances included: Frock Me Warehouse dance and fashion parade for Biggest Morning Tea, Ausdance Dance Expo, Janine’s Birthday Party Entertainments, Portrait of a Senior Territorian Launch, Palmerston Festival, Relay for Life, The Darwin Convention Centre Opening, Big Girl’s Pyjama Party - Anti-Cancer Foundation, Somerville Charity, Seabreeze Festival, Eisteddfod (First Prize, again), and the Tracks Christmas Party. Never has an Abba medley been seen by so many and provided so much joy.

Creative Personnel

Program Leaders: Julia Quinn and David McMicken
Choreographers: David McMicken, and Julia Quinn


Carmel Alderson, Judith Allen, Lucy Aylett, Hillary Basset, Bette Chapman, Kay Brown, Marge Duminski, Liz Gammon, Audrey Gorring, Ellen Hankin, Kathleen Harding, Jan Hastings, Val Hristova, Marg Lee, Lillian Mann, Judy Markwell, Elaine Marlow, Judy McKerr, Patricia O’Neill, Bev Paget, Judi Samuels, Shirley Somers, Janine Sutter, Gwen Varney, Punny Vegter, Maria Vlastuin, Mavis Waddell, Judy Weepers, and Jacquie Williams

Tracks 2008

Artistic Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
General Manager: Fiona Carter
Dance Animateur: Julia Quinn
Administrative Assistant: Ciella Williams, Gail Evans
Bookkeeper: Julie Ann Stark
Development Consultant: Suzanne Fermanis

Committee Members: (Chair) Jill MacAndrew, (Vice-Chair) David Taylor, (Treasurer) Glenn Bernardin, (Secretary/Public Officer) Traci Keys, (Ordinary Committee Members) Ken Conway, Nick Papandonakis, Donna Quong, (Ex-Officio Members) David McMicken and Tim Newth

Public Fund Trustees: Rev. Steve Orme, Dr Anita Toth, Paul Wan


Explore Further

Older Adults Home Page

Participation Projects


"There are not many occasions where it is appropriate to wolf-whistle at a senior – there are moments throughout this piece where it is not just acceptable, it is encouraged … Lipstick & Ochre is the Territory played out on stage, full of its contradictions, idiosyncrasies and unexpected and often rough edged Beauty."  Daniel Bourchier, Northern Territory News

… A vivid statement that age is no barrier to public performance … leaves an aura of good feelings in its wake." Merridy Anne Pugh, Northern Territory Writers’ Centre Newsletter

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year