Last Light 2015


Myilly Point Park, Myilly Terrace, Larrakeyah

Darwin has a great tradition of ending the day by the water's edge, watching the setting sun. Join Tracks Dance Company in an outdoor park-land setting, looking across the Harbour to the Arafura Sea. Let 30 local dancers accompany you on this Darwin sunset experience like never before. Imagine a runway stretching to the horizon, with you and the dancers wearing your own personal headsets, listening to an evocative and original soundtrack. Allow yourself to be drawn into this landscape wrapped in sound, whilst taking in images and actions, allowing your sunlit thoughts to melt away. Last Light will move you out of the day, past the blood red sun hitting the horizon, and through twilight into the night.

Conceived and directed by by Tracks' Artistic Directors David McMicken and Tim Newth (who are both in their third decade of making distinctly Territorian work which celebrates the people, the place and the spirit of the Northern Territory) with a creative team of local and national artists.

Creative Team

Concept and Direction: David McMicken, Tim Newth
Guest Choreographer: Anna Smith and Local Choreographers
Choreographers (from past Tracks Choreographic Program's): Kelly Beneforti (2010), Shaan Novak (2010), Venaska Cheliah (2014) and Darren Edwards (2015)
Original Music / Soundtrack: Matthew Cunliffe
Poster Design: Mark Marcelis

Tracks Dance Company are excited to be working with the creative team for Last Light. For the first time David and Tim are bringing back four local choreographers from past Tracks’ Choreographic Programs; Kelly Beneforti, Shaan Novak (Myall), Venaska Cheliah and Darren Edwards.

From the 2010 program, Kelly Beneforti, who is is our Dance Animateur,is now leading our participation program. Kelly started with Tracks as a youth dancer in Fast, and you may remember her as the red haired City Girl in Mr Big . She went on to study dance at the Victorian College for the Arts. Deciding to return to Darwin, we are thrilled to be able to draw on Kelly’s national local and national skills.

Shaan Novak (Myall) from the 2010 program, can be remembered as a very young performer in the iconic Tracks work 4WD Sweat Dust and Romance. She continued to sweat it out over the years, taking on a lead role in Endurance which was set within the Darwin Velodrome. Shaan is currently a director for the Department of Transport.

Venaska Cheliah completed the 2014 program. Within that same year she completed her Arangatram, (a classical Indian solo dance exam) and took on a solo role in Zombies in the Banyan Tree, choreographed by Desak Putu Wati and Jess Devereux. She did all this while concurrently studying to be a doctor.

Darren Edwards would be best known to most people as the lead dancer with Gary Lang NT Dancers, seen in Goose Lagoon, Mukoy, and Inspired. He finished the 2015 course. Darren has also branched out into several theatre shows in Darwin.  Having danced in many Tracks shows, notably in Crocodile Man Pineapple Woman, Eight to Eighty - The Architechture of Age, and Future Age with Darryl Butler of the Grey Panthers. Darren has just return from performing at the Sydney Festival, and Dance Massive in Vicki Van Hout’s work, Long Grass.

Anna Smith is our guest interstate choreographer. She is based in Melbourne and works as a choreographer, educator and community artist. She has been awarded 2 of Melbourne’s performing arts awards - The Green Room Awards. She is best known in Darwin for her work with Casuarina Senior College dance students which has often been performed at local events such as Seabreeze Festival. Tim and Anna first worked together in 1989/90 in Tasdance (a company of which David McMicken was a founding member) on the works Orville’s Outing, and The Seed is On The Ground.

Matt Cunliffe has created the original soundtrack for Last Light. He is the owner of Subsonic Music & Sound. Mastering. Mixing, engineering, composing, playing for bands, Matthew’s life is music. He has worked with groups and artists such as Yothu Yindi, Gurramul, Salt Water Band, Annie Gastin, Jillaine Jones, and Gary Lang NT Dancers. Matthew has excelled at getting the sound right in our often challenging outdoor venues like the Darwin velodrome for Endurance  and the Tanami Desert for Milpirri. We have used his talents on over 20 Tracks Dance productions.

We love Mark Marcellis’s sunny poster image that he has created for the show. Mark is a photographer and graphic artist and currently the editor and art director (along with Tim Palmer) of Resident Magazine. He has been the creator of the iconic images of our posters since 2001 with the first being Rivers of the Underground. In 2014, we had a Poster exhibition Our Community Is Our Company at the Darwin City Council Community Gallery space to celebrate the entire history of our work with Mark.


Angelita Gargoyles, Chloé Lauverjon, Donna Grossule, Elle Chandler, Heidi West, Jemma Stanley, Kelly Beneforti, Leanne Eltagonde, Liam Lorenzo Lu, Luxmy Chandran, Natalie Hafsteins, Penelope Paton and Ruttiya McElroy


Dreamedia, Southern Cross TV, Darwin International Airport

Funding Bodies

Tracks Inc is assisted by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body; and is proudly sponsored by the Northern Territory Government.

Tracks 2015

Artistic Co-Directors: David McMicken and Tim Newth
General Manager: Agnès Michelet
Administrator: Clancy Breasley
Production Manager: Kelly Blumberg
Dance Animateur: Kelly Beneforti
Bookkeeper: Heather Van Anholt
Geek in Residence: Jeffrey Withaya Campbell

Committee Members: Michael Grant (Chairperson), Glenn Bernardin (Treasurer), David Taylor, Ken Conway, Stephanie Cvirn, Mary Durack. David McMicken, Tim Newth, Agnès Michelet (Ex-Officio Members)

Public Fund Trustees: Rev. Steve Orme, Dr Anita Toth, Ippei Okazaki

Patron: His Honour, The Honourable John Hardy OAM, Administrator of the Northern Territory



Darwin Festival Box Office
08 8943 4222


Myilly Point Park
Myilly Terrace, Larrakeyah


Gate open @ 5.30pm for a 6pm sharp start

Fri 7 to Mon 10 Aug
Thurs 13 to Tues 18 Aug
Duration 1hr

Audience move between three performance spaces within the park. Please wear sensible footwear and sun glasses.

Search for Work by Title or
by Person:

› Search for Work by year